Geography in Davao - Philippines

The Davao Region is designated as Region XI of the Philippines. This region can be found at the southeastern section of Mindanao. The Davao Region actually consists of four regions Compostela Valley, Davao Oriental, Davao del Norte and Davao del Sur and the city of Davao. As a whole, the region embraces the gulf of Davao.

The History of the Geography of Davao

Originally, the whole region was referred to as the Southern Mindanao. It also included Surigao del Sur and South Cotabato. On March 16, 1992, the Congress passed RA No. 7225. This law created the province of Sarangani. This removed South Cotabato from Southern Mindanao. Three years after, RA No. 7901 transferred Surigao del Sur from Southern Mindanao to the Caraga Region. In 1998, the Compostela Valley became an independent province. On September of 2001, through EO No. 36, President Gloria Arroyo reorganized the regions and Southern Mindanao was renamed the Davao Region.

The Geography of the Compostela Valley

The Compostela Valley or Comval is one of the newest provinces in the country. This Davao province is fairly new. It has only been in existence for a decade. It is bordered by Agusan del Sur to the North, to the south by the Davao Gulf, to the west by Davao del Norte and to its east by Davao Oriental. The capital of this province is Nabunturan; although there are 11 municipalities.

The Geography of Davao Oriental

The geography of this province is fairly simple. It is the least populous province in the Davao region. It is bordered to the north by Surigao del Sur and Agusan del Sur, to the west by the Compostela Valley and to the east by the Philippine Sea. The province capital is Mati City, the only city in the province. However, it has 10 municipalities. A portion of this province can be found on an unnamed piece of land that enfolds the Davao Gulf.

The Geography of Davao del Norte

Geographically, this is the province that was once referred to simply as Davao. Now, it is only a part of the region. It is bordered by Agusan del Sur to the North, Davao City to the south, Bukidnon to the west and the Compostela Valley to the east. The capital is Tagum City but there are eight municipalities in this province.

The Geography of Davao del Sur

Davao City used to be a part of this province until the city was made an independent one. This province is bordered to the north by Davao City, to the west by Sarangani and Sultan Kudarat and the east by the Davao Gulf.

The Geography of Davao City

The capital of the whole Davao Region is Davao City. It is found in the southeastern portion of the island. The boundary lines of this city passes through the peak of Mt. Apo, which is known as the highest mountain in the country. The city is bounded to the north by Davao del Norte and to the east by the Davao Gulf and again, Davao del Norte.

The geographic location of the whole region allows for great tourist spots and great locations for vacations. With the mountains and the seas so near, it is not surprising that there are numerous things that people can do in this region.



Skin Whitening Forever